Circumlocutions

Traversing the gap between “blog” and “blawg” since 2008

Practical scholarship

leave a comment »

Supreme Court at night

Supreme Court at night

In the throes of finals preparations, I have been circling an idea that I decided needed to be recorded. I took Federal Jurisdiction this semester with a brilliant professor who was extremely capable of both communicating the intricacies of the material as well as boil it down to what it means to a practicing attorney.

The issue that is gnawing at the back of mind is that the practical use of the class can be cut short to maybe a week of material. Most of it ends with, “…and the Court will end up doing whatever it feels like, so hedge your bets.”

I found the class and material fascinating, but was it necessary? All I needed was for someone to tell me the important cases to cite in certain circumstances and warn me that there’s no telling what will happen… Which, I gather, is the first piece of advice any litigating attorney has to offer.

Written by mglickman

2008/12/07 at 8:30 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

